What is the minimum car insurance in Connecticut?
The minimum car insurance in Connecticut is 25/50/25. Connecticut is the 3rd smallest state with just over 4,800 square miles. The average temperature in the summer months is 69.2 degrees. In the winter the average temperature drops to 28.5 degrees. The annual average is 49 degrees. The average rainfall is 50 inches and the average snowfall is 37 inches.
Connecticut Minimum Coverage
|Coverage||Requirements In Connecticut|
|Bodily Injury Liability||Minimum $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident|
|Property Damage Liability.||Minimum $25,000|
|State Law||Tort Law|
What Are The Licensing Requirements For Teens?
Connecticut uses a multi-stage licensing method for teenage drivers. this method permits teens to step by step gain exposure to advanced driving scenarios over an extended amount of time.
At age 16, teens will apply for a learner’s permit in CT. The process starts with the teen and their parent visiting a DMV Hub Offices or website. A copy of the teenage driver’s birth certificate or a valid U.S. passport is required. All other requirements and/or fees can be found on the Connecticut DMV website. All applicants must pass a written and vision test to get their learner’s permit
Teens with learner’s permits can only drive under the following conditions:
- Occupied by a licenced driving educator giving instruction.
- Driving while with a parent or guardian who holds a valid driver’s license.
- Occupied by a driver over the age of 20 years and has a valid driver’s licence. They must have had their licence for at least 4 years without any suspensions
Before they can get a license, teens are needed to satisfy these qualifications:
- Practice drive for a minimum of forty hours with a licenced driving instructor, parent, or a legal guardian.
- Complete at least twenty-two hours of room training.
- Take 8-hour safe driving from a licensed CT driving school
- Pass a road test.
Parents or legal guardians also are required to finish a 2-hour driving class on teenaged driving laws.
Full License – With First Six-Month Restrictions
16- and 17-year-old applicants who were taught through a commercial or high school will have to wait 120 days after course completion before attempting their road test.
All other applicants will need to wait 180 days to take their test. Applicants are required to show their Connecticut learner’s permit and a valid registration and insurance card for the car they are using for their road test.
Teens who get their driver’s licenses can drive but must follow certain limitations during the first six months:
- They are not allowed to drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m.
- They are forbidden from driving with any passengers except for a licensed driving instructor; their parent/guardian.
- A driver who is at least 20 years old, has held a driver’s license for four or more consecutive years and whose driver’s license have not been revoked during the past four years.
Full License – With Second Six-Month Restrictions
During the second six months, the only extra passengers allowed in the vehicle are members of a driver’s immediate family.
Other First-Year License Restrictions
In addition, 16- and 17-year-old licensed drivers may NOT have more passengers than the number of seatbelts in the car.
Use any vehicle that requires a public passenger transportation permit or a vanpool vehicle.
Use a cell phone, while driving on a motorcycle for six months after getting a motorcycle endorsement.
Failure to Provide Car Insurance
You have to always carry proof of car insurance with you as evidence and you may be asked during traffic stops to provide proof and failure to do so, you will be required to provide a fee of $50 but with all the added fees it will be a total of $117.
Failing to maintain insurance in Connecticut
If you drive with insurance in the law in Connecticut. Failing to maintain insurance is a class C misdemeanor (a fine of up to $500, imprisonment up to three months, or both)
The state also requires the DMV to suspend the registration for 30 days for first time violations and up to 6 months for multiple violations. Drivers are responsible for pay the $175 reinstations fee to get their licence and registration reinstated.