Massachusetts Car Insurance

Massachusetts Car Insurance

Massachusetts Car Insurance

Just like most states, to register and drive in Massachusetts, you have to have a minimum level of auto insurance coverage. The state that you live in strongly determines the insurance coverage you will have. With about 5 million drivers in Massachusetts, it’s important to get car insurance online to minimize the risks that come with accidents. The table below shows the different coverages and requirements in terms of insurance in Massachusetts;

Coverage Requirements In Massachusetts
Bodily Injury Liability. This covers the expenses incurred after the injury or death of another when the accident is your fault $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability. This covers the expenses incurred due to the damage of another’s property including vehicle, home and any other structures when the accident is your fault $5,000 per accident
Uninsured Motorist. This covers your medical expenses when you’re in an accident and the driver that caused it has no insurance $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident
Personal Injury Protection. This covers the medical and funeral expenses if you or your passengers are involved in an accident $8,000 per person and accident


Aside from the above compulsory or minimum coverages, there are other optional ones that your lender may require if you are leasing or financing your vehicle and they include;

  • Underinsured Motorist which covers your medical expenses if you’re involved in an accident and the driver at fault has limited liability insurance
  • Collision which covers expenses to repair your car when damaged in an accident
  • Comprehensive which covers the expenses for repairing your car after it’s been stolen or damaged

No-Fault Insurance in Massachusetts

If you want to get car insurance in Massachusetts, you have to understand it’s a no-fault insurance system meaning that the possibilities of pursuing a claim as a victim in a car accident are limited most of the times. In this system, your car insurance coverage or better known as your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) pays for your medical expenses and other losses that you may incur up to the coverage limits and it doesn’t matter who caused the accident.

Therefore in this kind of system, you can’t get the necessary compensation you may aim for, like that to reduce your pain or any other non-monetary damages that may arise from the accident. It’s relevant to understand that the no-fault car insurance in Massachusetts applies to injuries resulting from car accidents and not vehicle damage claim. Therefore claims for damages to a vehicle can be made against the driver that caused it in Massachusetts without limitations.

Therefore to step outside of the no-fault insurance policy and file a third-party claim;

  • The injured party must have incurred $2,000 or more in medical expenses
  • The injuries due to the accident must be permanent or serious disfigurement or substantial loss of hearing or sight or fractured bone injuries

Therefore if your injuries are equivalent to the above, you can file a third-party claim or personal injury lawsuit so that the driver at fault can be held responsible

Teen Driver Laws in Massachusetts

In the state of Massachusetts, if you are a teen of 16 years or above, you can obtain a learner’s permit.  If you are a new driver under 18, you must take a driver’s training course. In the first 6 months after getting a learner’s license, you must have at least 40 hours of driving before being eligible for a restricted license.

This restricted license prohibits teenagers from driving with passengers under 18 unless they are family or when accompanied by a parent or guardian. You are also prohibited from driving between 12:30 am and 5:00 am unless in the company of a parent or guardian. Hence at the age of 18, teens are eligible for an unrestricted driver’s license having held a junior operator license for at least a period of 12 months

The state of Massachusetts also bans text-based communication when driving and it requires the use of a child safety seat for kids aged 5 to 7

Failure to Carry Car Insurance

In Massachusetts, it’s a requirement by law to carry proof of car insurance in your car and have it with you at all times in case a law enforcement officer requires to see it. Those who fail to provide this are required to pay fines between $500 and $5,000 to a year in jail. When you’re convicted, your license is suspended for 60 days together with your registration. You may also be required to pay an amount equivalent to a year’s premium for mandatory insurance at the market that is highest at the time of your offence

Insurance Discounts in Massachusetts

Several discounts may be available to you depending on the insurance company you apply to;

  • Good student
  • Anti-theft Insurance
  • Low-Mileage
  • Multi-car insurance
  • Passive Restraint System
  • Drivers Training