Minnesota Car Insurance
Minnesota is the state that possesses thousands of miles of roadways. With more than 3.2 million licensed drivers, it’s a no wonder that car insurance is mandatory and a legal requirement for one’s own protection.
You have to get yourself acquainted with the laws and requirements of car insurance in Minnesota. It requires a minimum amount of car insurance and those that are unable to possess that will be punished with fines or jail.
Whatever part of Minnesota you live in, getting car insurance online is extremely important and the table below shows the coverages and requirements when it comes to auto insurance.
|Coverage||Requirements In Minnesota|
|Bodily Injury Liability. This covers the expenses incurred after the injury of another when the accident is your fault||$30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident|
|Property Damage Liability. When an accident is your fault, this covers the expenses incurred because of the damage of another’s property||$10,000 per accident|
|Uninsured Motorist. Covers the medical expenses required when the driver that caused an accident has no insurance||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident|
|Underinsured Motorist. Covers medical expenses when the driver at fault has limited liability insurance||$25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident|
|Personal Injury Protection. This covers medical or funeral expenses when you or your passengers are involved in an accident||$40,000 for the injury|
The state of Minnesota doesn’t require additional coverage but certain circumstances might prompt you to choose the optional coverages like collision and comprehensive coverages hence it’s important to understand all of them
No-Fault Insurance System in Minnesota
Minnesota is a no-fault state and your insurance pays for your claims up to a specified limit and it doesn’t matter who caused it. Hence suing the party at fault may sometimes not be possible since your insurance carrier pays for your injuries.
In the state of Minnesota, drivers are required to carry not only personal injury protection insurance but also bodily injury liability coverage because;
- The injured parties can sue the at-fault driver for the pain suffered and it doesn’t matter if their carriers cover the medical payments
- It protects you from situations where you have an accident with a driver who doesn’t have Personal Injury Protection (PIP) hence the bodily injury liability helps you
Therefore if you get injured in an accident, the PIP pays you and your family for the losses in terms of lost wages and medical expenses. However, it doesn’t pay for property damage.
Driving Rules and Laws for Teens
Minnesota has a graduated driver’s licensing system and it all is dependent on the applicant’s age.
Those under 18 have to first complete the driver’s education course and take a written test. They can then get a permit if;
- They have a parent, guardian or instructor over 21 years with them
- They’ve completed 50 hours of driving with their parent and 15 of them must have been at night
- He/she didn’t use a phone while driving unless in emergencies
- All the passengers must have a seatbelt on
Having practiced with the learner’s permit for 6 months, you can now take a driving test. If you are 16 years and above and pass, you get a provisional license.
It allows you to drive without supervision and if you hold it for 1 year without any violations, you can apply for an unrestricted driver’s license.
You can also wait until the age of 21 to avoid the need for supervised training and take the road test at any time.
Failure to Carry Insurance in Minnesota
You must hold car insurance and have proof of it with you in case you are required to present it by a law enforcement officer.
If you don’t present it, you will be punished with penalties and can be required to pay $200 and above.
If you fail to pay, you may be required to do community service or may sometimes face jail time of up to 90 days or your driver’s license may get suspended.