Mississippi Car Insurance

Mississippi Car Insurance

Mississippi Car Insurance

If you live in Mississippi, it’s important to know its auto insurance laws and requirements. This is to protect yourself from the injuries that may occur and to have the necessary funds to recover since accidents happen almost every day.

To be able to drive in Mississippi, you have to have liability insurance. The table below shows the compulsory car insurance requirements in Mississippi.

Coverage Requirements In Mississippi
Bodily Injury Liability. If the accident is your fault, this will cover the expenses that arise from the injury and death of the other person $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability. This covers the expenses incurred and is related to the damages to the other person’s property that result from an accident that is your fault $25,000 for the damage


Having looked at the compulsory or minimum car insurance in Mississippi, the following show the optional coverages that companies may offer and they may protect drivers from the financial risks that arise when you own and drive a car and they are;

  • Collision Coverage. Covers damages to your vehicle
  • Comprehensive Coverage. Protects against weather damage or theft
  • Medical expenses. These are those not covered by liability
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist. This pays for losses incurred when the at-fault driver is uninsured or underinsured
  • Towing and Rental reimbursement

Traditional Fault-Based System in Mississippi

States may have different systems when determining fault after a car accident. Some have a no-fault based system while others have a fault-based system. Mississippi is one of the states that hold a fault-based system. It implies that the person responsible for the accident is responsible to pay the losses incurred therein. These losses may be related to property damage, lost income or the pain suffered.

If you have suffered an injury due to an accident caused by another, you can choose to proceed in the following ways;

  • Filing a claim with your insurance company if the loss is covered under the policy and they will pursue a claim against the at-fault driver’s insurance company
  • Filing a third-party claim with the driver at fault’s insurance company
  • Filing a personal injury lawsuit

Whoever wants to drive a vehicle in Mississippi, they must hold a valid driver’s license and those that have an out-of-state license should pass the vision test.

Driving Laws for Young Drivers

Drivers below 18 years must apply for a learner’s permit and hold it for a year. Students in a driver education course can get a learner’s permit even at 14 years. It allows them to drive while enrolled in the course or drive accompanied by an instructor in a driver education vehicle.

As for teens at the age of 16, they should hold their permit for at least 6 months and can hence apply for a license after passing a written test, road skills test and paying the fees.

Failure to Have Car Insurance

If you are a driver in Mississippi, you should have proof of insurance with you at all times to avoid being penalized.

You should have car insurance to drive in Mississippi and failure to get car insurance online will result in fines.

Therefore, it is important to have car insurance to protect yourself from potential future consequences and its vital to know all of the discounts you are entitled to and can apply for in the state of Mississippi and they include;

  • Safe driver for those with at least 5 years of safe driving
  • Multi-policy where some companies allow you to bundle your car insurance to save money
  • Savings may be available for you if you have an anti-theft device installed