What is the minimum car insurance in Utah?
The minimum Utah car insurance is 25/65/15. Utah is 13th largest state in the USA, it is bordered by Colorado, Wyoming, Arizona and Nevada.
Utah has a population of just over three million people and Salt Lake City is the state capital. The state has a dry desert climate and due to it location it can have extreme weather. The winter months are very cold with weather dropping below freezing and the summer months are very hot.
The winter months can lead to dangerous driving conditions and it is very important you have the best car insurance coverage
Utah Minimum Coverage
|Coverage||Requirements In Utah|
|Bodily Injury Liability||Minimum $25,000 per person / $65,000 per accident|
|Property Damage Liability.||Minimum $15,000|
|Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage||Minimum $25,000 per person / $65,000 per accident*|
|State Law||Tort Law|
* This coverage can be declined
Proof Of Insurance
The law requires motorists to carry proof of insurance and present it to any law enforcement officer upon request. For many years, Utah has check its motor vehicle registration file with a database of insurance policies written to Utah residents.
When the computer program discovers a Utah-registered vehicle does not have a corresponding insurance policy, a letter is sent to the vehicle’s registered owner, requiring the owner to provide proof of insurance.
Penalties For Not Having Car Insurance
If the owner of a automobile fails to supply satisfactory proof of insurance after receipt of the letter. That information are going to be provided to the DMV and state and local law enforcement.
If an individual is convicted during a court or found through a Department of Public Safety (DPS) hearing to have been operating a automobile without insurance. The DMV may suspend the uninsured vehicle registration.
Failure to supply insurance or operator’s security is a Class B misdemeanor. The fine is $400 for a primary offense; and $1,000 for a second. Subsequent offense within three years of a previous conviction or bail forfeiture.
If an individual is convicted for failure to insure a vehicle, the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS) is required to suspend the person’s driver license. DPS might not renew or issue a driver license to the person until the person gives the agency proof of owner’s or operator’s security and pays a reinstatement fee. Upon receipt of such proof, DPS also will notify DMV.
To reinstate vehicle registration, the owner must:
- Provider evidence of ownership, such as the vehicle’s title or registration card;
- Show picture identification;
- Present one of the following as evidence of insurance coverage for the vehicle:
- a current form SR-22 obtained from a Utah licensed insurance company or agent that shows proof of insurance coverage for the vehicle;
- an up to date insurance policy;
- a current insurance binder;
- an up to date insurance declaration; or
- a current insurance card
- Pay a $100 reinstatement fee.
The law requires DPS to maintain proof of the person’s owner’s or operator’s security for a three-year period and the insurer must notify DPS if the policy is terminated. A person convicted under this law terminates his or her insurance, the person must surrender his or her driver license to DPS.
A person who cancels the certificate of insurance applies for a driver license within three years from the date that the state originally required proof of owner’s or operator’s security. DPS is required to obtain proof of owner’s or operator’s security before reissuing the driver license. DPS must maintain the proof of the security for the remainder of the three-year period.